• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

About FDA

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

APPENDIX G - FY 2006 OSEL Laboratories and Laboratory Leaders

Division of Biology

Toxicology (biocompatibility): Peter Goering, Ph.D. (301.796.0253) or peter.goering@fda.hhs.gov

Laboratory of Cardiovascular and Interventional Therapeutics:
John Karanian (301.210.4247)or john.karanian@fda.hhs.gov

Biological Risk Assessment (infection control): Ronald Brown (301.796.0252) or ronald.brown1@fda.hhs.gov

Radiation Biology (photosciences): Howard Cyr Ph.D. (301.796.0297) or howard.cyr@fda.hhs.gov

Biomolecular Mechanisms (molecular biology, immunology, allergy, cell biology, genomics/genetics): TBD - contact Marilyn Lightfoote, Director DB (301.796.0235) or marilyn.lightfoote@fda.hhs.gov

Biotechnology (biosensors, nanotechnology): John Langone, Ph.D. (301.796.0245) or john.langone@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Chemistry and Materials Science

Materials Chemistry: Joyce Whang, Ph.D. (301.796.2475) or joyce.whang@fda.hhs.gov

Experimental Pathology: Steve Hilbert, MD (301.796.2607) or stephen.hilbert@fda.hhs.gov

Active Materials: Dinesh Patwardhan, Ph.D. dinesh.patwardhan@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Electrical and Software Engineering

Software: Joseph Jorgens (301.796.2588) or joseph.jorgens@fda.hhs.gov

Electrical Engineering: Al Taylor, Director DESE (301-796-2583) or alford.taylor@fda.hhs.gov

System Engineering: Al Taylor (acting), Director DESE (301.796.2583) or alford.taylor@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Imaging and Applied Mathematics

Imaging Analysis: Nicholas Petrick,, Ph.D. (301.796.2563) or nicholas.petrick@fda.hhs.gov

Imaging Physics: Aldo Badano, Ph.D. (301.796.2534) or aldo.badano@fda.hhs.gov

Ionizing Radiation Metrology: Mary Walker (301.796.2558) or mary.walker@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Physics

Electro-physiology and Electrical Stimulation: Victor Krauthamer, Ph.D. (301.796.2474) or victor.krauthamer@fda.hhs.gov

Electromagnetic and Wireless Technology: Howard Bassen (301.796.2472) or howard.bassen@fda.hhs.gov

Optical Diagnostics and Therapeutics: Joshua Pfefer, Ph.D. (301.796.2494) or joshua.pfefer@fda.hhs.gov

Optical Therapeutics and Medical Nanophotonics: Ilko Ilev, Ph.D. (301.796.2489) or
ilko.ilev@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Solid and Fluid Mechanics

Fluid Dynamics: Michael Berman, PhD (301.796.2504) or michael.berman@fda.hhs.gov

Mechanics: Stan Brown, PhD (301.827.4751) or stanley.brown@fda.hhs.gov

Ultrasonics: Gerald Harris, Ph.D (301.796.2508) or gerald.harris@fda.hhs.gov

 

Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories Organization Chart

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR 

DIRECTOR: Larry Kessler, Sc.D. (301) 796-2553 WO62-RM 3214

Deputy Director for Science and Strategic Initiatives: William Herman (301) 796-2549 WO62-RM 3206

Deputy Director for Program Policy and Evaluation: Subhas Malghan, Ph.D. (301) 796- 2548 WO62-RM 3204

Associate Director for Compliance Activities: Thomas Lee (301) 796-2554 WO62-RM 3220

Associate Director for Laboratories: Charles Warr (301) 796-2556 WO62-RM 3145

Outreach Coordinator: Ann Mastradone (301) 796- 2560 WO62-RM 3224

STANDARDS MANAGEMENT STAFF (SMS )

DIRECTOR: Carol Herman (240) 276-0556 HFZ-84

Deputy Director: Gail Strieter (240) 276-0561 HFZ-84

MANAGEMENT SUPPORT SERVICES (PMO)

PMO DIRECTOR: Angie Clingerman (301) 796- 2569 WO62-RM 4106

DIVISION OF BIOLOGY (DB)

DIRECTOR: Marilyn Lightfoote, M.D., Ph.D (301) 796-0235 (HFZ-110)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Melvin Stratmeyer, Ph.D. (301) 796-0261 (HFZ-120)
DEPUTY DIRECTOR: John Langone, Ph.D. (301) 796-0245 (HFZ-110)

DIVISION OF CHEMISTRY AND MATERIALS SCIENCE (DCMS)

DIRECTOR: Steven Pollack, Ph.D. (301) 796- 2476 WO62-RM 1102

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Joyce Whang, Ph.D. (301) 796- 2475 WO62-RM 1104

DIVISION OF PHYSICS (DP)

DIRECTOR: Joel Myklebust, P.E., Ph.D (301) 796-2491 WO62-RM 1214

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Brian Beard, Ph.D. (301) 796- 2469 WO62-RM 1118

DIVISION OF SOLID AND FLUID MECHANICS (DSFM)

DIRECTOR: Laurence Grossman, Ph.D. (301) 796-2502 WO62-RM 2118

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Jon Casamento (301) 796- 2499 WO62-RM 2124

DIVISION OF IMAGING AND APPLIED MATHEMATICS (DIAM)  

DIRECTOR: David Brown, Ph.D. (301) 796-2562 WO62-RM 4118

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Nicholas Petrick, Ph.D. (301) 796- 2563 WO62-RM 4116

DIVISION OF ELECTRICAL AND SOFTWARE ENGINEERING (DESE)

DIRECTOR: Alford Taylor Jr. (301) 796-2583 WO62-RM 4218

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Brian Fitzgerald (301) 796- 2579 WO62-RM 4206